Oreo-ish Cookies

I took a huge platter of these to a gathering the other evening.  I had forgotten how delicious they are.  This post is for a friend who demands it…and you don’t deny an adorably eight months pregnant lady.  I found some pictures lurking on my camera from months ago when I made them before and put it up as quickly as possible.

I can’t take the credit for the recipe.  It is adjusted only very slightly from it’s original on SmittenKitchen.  (I make then less sweet and more salty) Let me assure you it is worth making.  I make these when the occasion calls for a dessert that is slightly more impressive than drop cookies, but not formal. And for people who appreciate food and won’t say “Oh no, no carbs or dessert for me.”

Surprisingly quick to make, these go together start to finish in about an hour and are incredibly addictive.  So don’t make them unless you have plans of dispensing with them.  The not-so-sweet cookie combines perfectly with the vanilla-ey and sugary filling.

Cookies:
1 1/4 cup flour
1/3 cup cocoa
1 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp baking powder
3/4 tsp salt
3/4 cup sugar
1/2 cup softened butter
1 egg

Put all the ingredients into a Food Processor (or KitchenAid or bowl-and-a-spoon).  Stir it until combined. (Dough will be a little grainy)

Roll into grape sized balls, and flatten them slightly before placing on a greased cookie sheet. Bake at 375 degrees for 7 minutes.  Remove to a cooling rack.

Filling:

1/2 cup butter
2 cup powdered sugar
1 generous tsp of real vanilla (don’t even think about using imitation, it’s what makes the cookie)

Spread a dollop of filling on a cookie, top with another and gently press to seal.

One thought on “Oreo-ish Cookies

Leave a comment